Q: What are the requirements for a teenager under the age of 18 to get their driver’s license?
- The following are required:
The State of Ohio requires every person under the age of 18 to take 24 hours of classroom instruction and 8 hours of behind-the-wheel, in-car driving instruction.
- Teenagers MUST hold their temporary permit for a minimum of 6 months prior to taking their skills test at the BMV.
- Teenagers will be required to complete 50 hours of driving (40 hours during the day and 10 hours during the night) with their parents or legal guardian. Then, they must completely and sign a "50-Hour Affidavit" verifying they have done, and have the form notarized.
Q: Can I take my in-car driving only, if I have completed an online driver's course?
Yes, we offer in-car driver's training for students who have completed an online driving education course. You must provide proof of completion. Fees for in-car driving only is $625 and must be paid in full before driving sessions are scheduled.
Q: When can I start class?
You can start class at age 15 and 5 months. Our classes start every Monday with exception of Major Holidays or otherwise stated by B-SAFE employees.
Q: Can I drive with a different school after attending class at B-SAFE?
Class time is non-transferrable between different driving schools. If you choose to change to a different school, you will have to start the courses over and again and pay the other school's course fees in full. Also, in accordance with our contract, fees are non-refundable.
Q: How long are my temps good for?
Temporary driving permits are good for one year. Also, you must have had your temps for six (6) months before you are eligible to test for you your official driver's license.
Q: How do I schedule my driving test once I complete all of the requirements?
Call 1-877-439-8378 or visit their website at: ohiodrivingtest.com
Q: Do I have to pay the entire course fee up front?
No, at B-SAFE you have 90 days to pay the full course fee, but we do require $100 as a down payment to register you for classes. Please note that in-car training cannot be scheduled until we have received your full payment.
Q: When do I do my in-car driving?
We have instructors on the road 7 days a week (weather permitting). Please note, though, that certain times of the year are busier than others and we sometimes get backed up. We recommend that you work with us to schedule your in-car sessions as soon as your classes are paid in full.
Ohio Bureau of Motor Vehicles (BMV) - https://www.bmv.ohio.gov/
Ohio BMV Driver's License Info - https://www.bmv.ohio.gov/driver-license.aspx
Ohio BMV Online Services - https://services.dps.ohio.gov/BMVOnlineServices/Home/Login?returnUrl=%2FBMVOnlineServices%2FDL%2FExamScheduling&authLevelEnums%5B0%5D=DLNumber&authLevelEnums%5B1%5D=Person&authLevelEnums%5B2%5D=DXCustomer
Ohio BMV Info About Identification Documents -
Info about Ohio new Driver's Licenses - https://www.bmv.ohio.gov/NEWDL-ID/faqs.aspx
Info about Driver's License Suspensions and Reinstatements - https://www.bmv.ohio.gov/suspensions-reinstatements.aspx
Info about Ohio's motorcycle laws and licenses - https://www.motorcycle.ohio.gov/
Tips and Info for Teen Drivers - http://teendriving.com/
Mothers Against Drunk Driving - https://www.madd.org/
Insurance Institute for Highway Safety - https://www.iihs.org/
Info about Organ and Tissue Donation - https://lifepassiton.org/